Burma Superstar!

When I say Burma, you say Superstar.
Burma (Superstar!) Burma (Superstar!)

First off, you have to love the name. It puts you in a good mood before you even crack the menu.

Then, there’s the issue of choice: Their vegetarian selection makes me downright giddy.

Finally, the food. It throws your mouth for a wonderful loop. Is that India I taste? Thailand, what are you doing here? And where the hell did the felafel come from?

We started last night with the obligatory Tea Leaf Salad– tea leaves, tomatoes, lettuce, fried garlic, sesame seeds, peanuts and split yellow peas. I say obligatory because you damn well better order it when you go. Trust me. The tea leaves bring a smokey funk to the dish that’s hard to resist, while a bright squeeze of lemon gives it a charge of acidity.

Then we had the Samusa Soup. A soup that feels like a big, warm bear hug. At first glance, it’s a jumbled mess. Samusas (hand wrapped pasta filled with curry and potato) swim with broken felafel, lentils, cabbage and onions in a thick curried broth that will remind you of your favorite Indian take away. Savory, tangy, and spicy in perfect measure.

We added the Stir Fried Pea Shoots with wine and garlic, and the Tofu Tower, which sits on top of a nest of watercress, mushrooms, and bell peppers in a chili and black bean sauce. Both dishes were good, but maybe less surprising than the others. The knock-you-on-your-ass delight of the salad and the soup was a hard act to follow. Of course, their Coconut Rice another story all together. Think of it like cocaine. Once you try it, you’re going to want A LOT more.

Wash it all down with a cold, dry Singha, and you’re looking at one fine, reasonably priced, vegetarian feast–well worth the schlep out to 4th and Clement. (I know, I know. It’s not that far. But I tell ya, anything past Masonic seems like a long haul to me.)

Good stuff, friends. I’m jonesing for some more Coconut Rice as we speak. So, if you’re holdin’…

2 Comments

Filed under On the Cheap, Reviews

2 responses to “Burma Superstar!

  1. Mmmm, samusa soup. Three years later, I still recall that dish fondly. When I go back to the city this summer I’m going to demand a side-trip. Glad you like it too.

  2. I too am a member of Burma Superstar’s faithful congregation. I would like to sit in a bathtub full of samusa soup. Spicy!

    However, you failed to mention the Rainbow Salad. 22 ingredients or something crazy like that. I think we should go together and have a Salad-Off. Tea v. Rainbow. Bring it!

Leave a Reply

