Lime. Who knew?

A decent meal can sneak up on you when you least expect it. Or, rather, because you least expect it.

That’s the way it went down Saturday at Lime.

We were looking for a casual, inexpensive place to meet a friend for cocktails, and the presence of snacks was a requirement. Lime was an easy choice, especially given the fact that my friend is from out of town and utterly hopeless with directions. It’s pretty simple to find Market and stay on it.

I’ve always had mixed feelings about Lime. Part of me really likes it there. It seems hip and fun– but if you pay too close attention, you realize that it’s hip and fun in an IKEA way. Cheap and not all that well built. But whatever. That doesn’t stop me from drooling all over the IKEA catalogue. Nor does it keep me out of Lime.

The cocktails, as usual, were tasty. Their Kaffir Gimlets are divine– they’re not afraid to let them be bitter. (Fresh lime juice and Hangar One Kaffir Lime vodka with a touch of simple syrup.)

And, I’m happy to report, the food was tasty. Yes, I had low expectations. And yes, I was two gimlets in, but damn if it wasn’t decent. We started with the Baja Fish tacos. Small, but the fish was crispy and light. Then we added veggies (green beans with kalamata olives and red peppers; nice and snappy with a decent amount of spice), grilled cheese sandwiches with tomato soup (the soup, which was more like a dip, was tangy and thick) glazed sea bass (in little lettuce cups for handy eating) and the zucchini fries (the only real let down of the bunch– there was way too much batter and it left them feeling soggy and limp). We finished off with a plate of five mini red velvet cupcakes. Sultry-teenage-super-yum.

I enter most restaurants with such high expectations, I can’t help but have them dashed. Let this be a lesson to me, I suppose. Aim low, get happy.

(Originally posted Saturday, January 13, 2007)

2 Comments

Filed under Cocktails First, Reviews

2 responses to “Lime. Who knew?

  1. Amy

    I almost feel guilty telling people to try Lime. It feels like a nightclub that should care more about the drinks than the food, but actually the food has been wonderful everytime I’ve been. The small plates, even the veggie ones, are vibrant and satisfying. I hope things don’t change much since chef Sharon Ardiana recently left.

  2. I’ve always enjoyed the food at Lime, and mirror Amy’s concern about possible decline with the change of chef. In point of fact, I think it’s been the best food in the Castro since it opened. Though that’s really not saying very much.

Leave a Reply

