Ode to San Francisco (Out the Door)

You can’t help but fall in love with San Francisco on a day like today. While my East Coast friends are shoveling snow, I’m wondering whether the back of my neck is getting pink from the sun.

So it was the perfect day for lunch at the Ferry Building. Or as I like to call it, “church”.

I’m lucky enough to work just a few short blocks from church, so it’s easy to worship on a daily basis. Today, I heard the gospel of Out the Door, Slanted Door’s ingenious take on fast food.

There’s been so much written about Slanted Door, it seems pointless to add to the noise. (Of course, when has that ever stopped me?)

Out the Door ain’t perfect, but more often than not, it’s exactly what I need. Something light, fresh, quick, and delicious. Their Green Papaya Salad refuses to go the cloyingly sweet route, opting instead for bright and refreshing. And their Steamed Vegetarian Buns give a big middle finger to their pork-filled friends— they’re just as savory without the meat, thank you very much. Today I opted for the fresh Vegetarian Imperial Rolls. I could be a total beeatch here and say that I like mine packed with a bit more tofu, but I’m telling you, it’s just too nice outside to complain.

Days like this keep me going. Yummy take-out eaten in the sun, sitting along the Embarcadero with a few of my coworker pals. I should try to remember the warmth of February when I’m shivering on my birthday in July.

3 Comments

Filed under On the Cheap, Reviews

3 responses to “Ode to San Francisco (Out the Door)

  1. Glad to find your website through Becks & Posh.

  2. While I love going to Church, the Slanted Door has never failed to piss me off with their reservation snafus. And I keep trying! And keep getting burned. The lies! When “the table you’ve reserved will be ready in about 45 minutes” is a lie, you’ve got issues.

    Anyway, I’m glad they’re working the takeout angle. When I get back, maybe I’ll give them another chance. Try the food without the aggravation.

  3. I hear ya, Kris. The takeout is much easier to handle, especially now that they have those little buzzer things to tell you when your order is up.

Leave a Reply

