Drunken Vegetarianism

Allow me to clear up a common misconception. Vegetarians are not necessarily wholesome by definition. Sure, we enjoy the healthy side benefits of a meat-free lifestyle, but we go out, get shit-faced, and get a hankerin’ for fried food just like everyone else.

Which is why I’m so in love with Truck. Stuck on the corner of Nowhere and Filthy in the Mission (that particularly lonely stretch of Folsom, just past the FoodsCo), Truck is a welcome oasis. Smallish, gayish, cheapish and friendly as all get out. And then there’s the Fried Tofu.

I can’t count the number of times I’ve been out and about, staring longingly at the deep fried chicken fingers of my drinking pals. Not that I want the chicken—I just want the fried. Truck understands that feeling, and serves up a deep fried platter of veggies and tofu, with your choice of dipping sauce. (My choice happened to be the curried ketchup. Yum.) The batter is surprisingly well-seasoned, and not at all greasy. And the tofu slabs sit snuggled in a basket with fried broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini and mushrooms. It’s the perfect reason for another round of Citron and Tonics.

Now I’d like to pretend that my evening ended there. But long story short, and a few bars later, I was hungry again. Thankfully, Crepes A-Go-Go is an equidistant stumble between the Eagle and my house. It’s located next to Butter, in a cart on 11th between Harrison and Folsom. As far as I’ve noticed, it’s only open late at night, serving up easy-eatin’ hand food to the rowdy crowds. I’ve enjoyed the sweet life-giving nectar of a Nutella Crepe there at 2:00 a.m., and this weekend, I tried the Mushroom, Spinach and Cheese. To be honest, I can’t tell you whether or not it’s actually any good: I’ve never been there sober. (Sweet Baby Jesus, this post makes me sound like I should change my last name to Lohan.) But I can tell you this—when it’s time to head home, and you’ve got your munch on, Crepes A-Go-Go doesn’t disappoint. There’s plenty of choices for veggies and meat lovers alike.

So let’s raise a toast to the beautiful abandon of drunken eating,  when the rules fly out the window, and pure satisfaction is the only goal. Cheers.

3 Comments

Filed under Cocktails First, On the Cheap, Reviews

3 responses to “Drunken Vegetarianism

  1. Well, said and cheers to you!

    Happily, there’s lots of vegetarian drinks to try and I say, why not?

  2. Yes, vegetarians can get schnockered, but maybe not so much the vegans. I was gobsmacked to learn that most wine is not vegan, as they use bone char and/or egg whites for clarification. Reason enough for me to stay on the dark side. 😉

  3. Well that’s just downright silly. Life without win? Forgetaboutit.

Leave a Reply

